"}
Food

Plant, Prepare, Feast

Reading into the farm-to-table ethos

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Harvesting is in full swing as local gardeners reap the bounty of backyard gardens. These titles celebrate farm-to-table philosophy and will nourish your “eat local” spirit. Titles are available at Whatcom County libraries, or use your smartphone or mobile device to visit the library by downloading the free “Library Now” app.

The Nourished Kitchen: Farm-to-Table Recipes for the Traditional Foods Lifestyle, by Jennifer McGruther

The full subtitle of this book is a tell-all about its contents: “Featuring bone broths, fermented vegetables, grass-fed meats, wholesome fats, raw dairy, and kombuchas.” Heavily referencing old-time ways of cooking, McGruther emphasizes locally grown, unprocessed, traditionally prepared foods and a food philosophy centered on sustainability and community involvement. One of her inspirations is Dr. Weston Price, a Canadian dentist who studied the diet and food preparation techniques of indigenous people after witnessing firsthand a decline in his patient’s health with the introduction of processed food. A rare and delightful cookbook—wonderful to cook from, beautiful to look at, inspiring to read—from the creator of the award-winning http://www.nourishedkitchen.com website.

Growing a Feast: The Chronicle of a Farm-to-Table Meal, by Kurt Timmermeister

In what is essentially a memoir of a meal, Timmermeister tells the story of each item that came together to make a celebratory end-of-summer feast for 20 guests at his Vashon Island farm. The account is imbued with the love of a farmer for his land and all it produces, as well as a former restaurateur’s delight in the planning, preparation and offering of a meal. The story begins with the birth of Alice, the calf whose cream will be used in the dinner’s Béarnaise sauce, and progresses through the planting of seeds, aging of cheeses and picking and pickling of produce. Born and raised far from farmland in the heart of Seattle, Timmermeister is the owner of Kurtwood Farms, home to a small herd of Jersey cows whose milk is made into delicious farmstead cheeses.

Blessing the Hands That Feed Us: What Eating Closer to Home Can Teach Us About Food, Community, and Our Place On Earth, by Vicki Robin

You may recognize Vicki Robin’s name as the author of the seminal guide to money management in the modern world, Your Money or Your Life. Described by the New York Times as the “prophet of consumption downsizers,” Robin applies the same relational observations to this 2010 experiment in “hyperlocal” eating, accepting the challenge from a local Whidbey Island gardener to eat only what could be provided in a 10-mile radius. This is a natural for readers who enjoyed Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Mineral or books by Michael Pollan. But Robin’s charismatic and inspirational style broaden the appeal net, as she convincingly argues that eating local not only builds community, but could also make you thinner, healthier and more resilient! Informative and entertaining reading.

Lisa Gresham is the Collection Support Manager for the Whatcom County Library System (WCLS). She depends on cookbooks borrowed from the library to make dazzling dishes from her CSA farm share.

Ticket Cascadia
More Food...
Ferndale Farmstead
An Eat Local Month spotlight

Kevin Dougherty, the farm manager of Ferndale Farmstead, is already up at first light—he’s been awake since 5:30am—feeding fawn-colored calves and preparing for the long day ahead.

Dougherty’s morning routine doesn’t look any different from countless other dairy farmers across…

more »
Compass Rose
A unique mix in Point Roberts

Many restaurants try to deliver a great dining experience by focusing on fresh ingredients and unique recipes. But if your restaurant is in a place as remote as Point Roberts—an American “island” in Whatcom County surrounded by the ocean on one side and Canada on the other—you have to…

more »
Beer Week
Hoppy days are here again

A recent Saturday afternoon found me and my significant other parked at an outdoor table at Kulshan Brewery after an exhausting day of running errands.

As we sipped our beers—a Good Ol’ Boy pale ale for me, and a Bastard Kat IPA for him—and watched the friends and families that were…

more »
Events
Today
A gold medal standard

4:00pm

Eat Local Month

4:00pm|Bellingham and Whatcom County

Whatcom Water Week

10:00am|Whatcom County

We Grow Market

3:00pm|Northwest Youth Services

Yoga for Outdoor Fitness

6:00pm|REI

Candidate Forum

6:30pm|PUD Building

Cooking with Sea Vegetables

6:30pm|Community Food Co-op

The Happy Elf Auditions

7:00pm|Claire vg Thomas Theatre

Open Mic

7:00pm|Village Books

Poetrynight

8:00pm|Bellingham Public Library

Guffawingham

9:30pm|Green Frog

Cascadia Weekly Subscribe Ad 1 Northwood Steak and Crab
Tomorrow
Eat Local Month

4:00pm|Bellingham and Whatcom County

A gold medal standard

4:00pm

Whatcom Water Week

10:00am|Whatcom County

The Happy Elf Auditions

7:00pm|Claire vg Thomas Theatre

Making Miso

4:00pm|Skagit Valley Food Co-op

Bingo in Blaine

6:00pm|Blaine Senior Center

All-Paces Run

6:00pm|Fairhaven Runners

Not If But When

6:00pm|Burlington Public Library

Wonton and Char Siu

6:30pm|Community Food Co-op

Roving Cocktail Party

6:30pm|Gretchen's Kitchen

Bellingham Reads

6:30pm|Bellingham Public Library

Eagle Presentation

7:00pm|Whatcom Museum's Old City Hall

Blackfish Prophecy

7:00pm|Village Books

Skagit Folk Dancers

7:00pm|Bayview Civic Hall

Beginning Square Dance

7:00pm|Ten Mile Grange

Monastery Talk

7:00pm|Bellingham Shambhala Meditation Center

Northwood Steak and Crab Swinomish 2016
Wednesday
A gold medal standard

4:00pm

Eat Local Month

4:00pm|Bellingham and Whatcom County

Whatcom Water Week

10:00am|Whatcom County

Bellingham City Club Meeting

11:30am|Northwood Hall

Lynden Book Club

12:30pm|Lynden Library

Sedro-Woolley Farmers Market

3:00pm|Hammer Heritage Square

Fun with Fermentation

4:00pm|Blaine Library

Ukulele for Everyone

4:00pm|Everson Library

Group Run

6:00pm|Skagit Running Company

Group Run

6:00pm|Skagit Running Company

Bokashi Composting

6:30pm|Cordata Community Food Co-op

Teton Gravity Research's Tight Loose

7:30pm|Mount Baker Theatre

Bebel Gilberto

7:30pm|Lincoln Theatre

Bebel Gilberto

7:30pm|Lincoln Theatre

see our complete calendar »

Artifacts Wine Bar Cascadia Weekly Subscribe Ad 1 Bellingham Farmer’s Market CW BOB 2016 Northwood Steak and Crab Swinomish 2016 Village Books Everybody’s Store Andrew Subin