Food

Plant, Prepare, Feast

Reading into the farm-to-table ethos

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Harvesting is in full swing as local gardeners reap the bounty of backyard gardens. These titles celebrate farm-to-table philosophy and will nourish your “eat local” spirit. Titles are available at Whatcom County libraries, or use your smartphone or mobile device to visit the library by downloading the free “Library Now” app.

The Nourished Kitchen: Farm-to-Table Recipes for the Traditional Foods Lifestyle, by Jennifer McGruther

The full subtitle of this book is a tell-all about its contents: “Featuring bone broths, fermented vegetables, grass-fed meats, wholesome fats, raw dairy, and kombuchas.” Heavily referencing old-time ways of cooking, McGruther emphasizes locally grown, unprocessed, traditionally prepared foods and a food philosophy centered on sustainability and community involvement. One of her inspirations is Dr. Weston Price, a Canadian dentist who studied the diet and food preparation techniques of indigenous people after witnessing firsthand a decline in his patient’s health with the introduction of processed food. A rare and delightful cookbook—wonderful to cook from, beautiful to look at, inspiring to read—from the creator of the award-winning http://www.nourishedkitchen.com website.

Growing a Feast: The Chronicle of a Farm-to-Table Meal, by Kurt Timmermeister

In what is essentially a memoir of a meal, Timmermeister tells the story of each item that came together to make a celebratory end-of-summer feast for 20 guests at his Vashon Island farm. The account is imbued with the love of a farmer for his land and all it produces, as well as a former restaurateur’s delight in the planning, preparation and offering of a meal. The story begins with the birth of Alice, the calf whose cream will be used in the dinner’s Béarnaise sauce, and progresses through the planting of seeds, aging of cheeses and picking and pickling of produce. Born and raised far from farmland in the heart of Seattle, Timmermeister is the owner of Kurtwood Farms, home to a small herd of Jersey cows whose milk is made into delicious farmstead cheeses.

Blessing the Hands That Feed Us: What Eating Closer to Home Can Teach Us About Food, Community, and Our Place On Earth, by Vicki Robin

You may recognize Vicki Robin’s name as the author of the seminal guide to money management in the modern world, Your Money or Your Life. Described by the New York Times as the “prophet of consumption downsizers,” Robin applies the same relational observations to this 2010 experiment in “hyperlocal” eating, accepting the challenge from a local Whidbey Island gardener to eat only what could be provided in a 10-mile radius. This is a natural for readers who enjoyed Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Mineral or books by Michael Pollan. But Robin’s charismatic and inspirational style broaden the appeal net, as she convincingly argues that eating local not only builds community, but could also make you thinner, healthier and more resilient! Informative and entertaining reading.

Lisa Gresham is the Collection Support Manager for the Whatcom County Library System (WCLS). She depends on cookbooks borrowed from the library to make dazzling dishes from her CSA farm share.

BTown
More Food...
Oktoberfesting
A rousing roundup

Although the original Oktoberfest was held to celebrate the 1810 marriage of a couple of German royals—Bavarian Crown Prince Ludwig and his blushing bride, the Saxon-Hildburghausen Fraulein known as Princess Therese—it has since spread its partying proclivities far and wide. Following…

more »
Brunch Alert
No shortcuts at the Birch Door Cafe

Buttery, silky-soft pancakes that melt in your mouth. Sweet blintzes filled with creamy ricotta and topped with berries. Apple cinnamon pancakes that emerge from the kitchen three inches high and dripping with sweetness. Next time you’re up for an indulgent weekend brunch, make sure you…

more »
Tomato Talk
My big fat Greek salad

When I purchased 17 tomato plants at the annual Whatcom County Master Gardener’s Plant Sale in May, I was optimistic the culinary vegetables would give me plenty to work with later in the gardening season.

Thanks to a hot and dry summer, my edible expectations were exceeded. From the time…

more »
Events
Today
MVHS Fall Concert

4:00pm|McIntyre Hall

Book Group Mixers

5:30pm|Village Books

Group Run

6:00pm|Skagit Running Company

Life of the Arctic Polar Bear

6:30pm|Community Food Co-op

Creekside Open Mic

6:30pm|South Whatcom Library

Anyone for Stew?

6:30pm|Gretchen's Kitchen

Seasonal Beers

6:30pm|Cordata Community Food Co-op

Birds and Plants

7:00pm|RE Store

Thriving in the Middle

7:00pm|Village Books

Jeremy Kahn Quartet

7:00pm|Sylvia Center for the Arts

Scottish Dancing

7:30pm|Fairhaven Library

Mt. Baker Theatre Undersea Bubble
Tomorrow
Book Group Mixers

5:30pm|Village Books

Bringing history into sharp focus

10:00am

Fall Craft & Antique Show

10:00am|Northwest Washington Fairgrounds

U.S. Citizenship Class

6:00pm|Lynden Library

3MB

7:00pm|Sylvia Center for the Arts

The Women of Lockerbie

7:00pm|Lynden Christian High School

Balkan Folk Dance

7:00pm|Fairhaven Library

Summer Bike Stories

7:00pm|Cafe Velo

Young Frankenstein

7:30pm|Anacortes Community Theatre

Trove Cascadia Weekly Subscribe Ad 1
Friday
Fall Craft & Antique Show

10:00am|Northwest Washington Fairgrounds

3MB

7:00pm|Sylvia Center for the Arts

The Women of Lockerbie

7:00pm|Lynden Christian High School

Young Frankenstein

7:30pm|Anacortes Community Theatre

Wild Things

9:30am|Stimpson Family Nature Reserve

Book and Bake Sale

10:00am|Lynden Library

Grand Opening and Open House

11:00am|Social Fabric

Books and Bites

1:00pm|Blaine Library

Clean Eating

2:00pm|Cordata Community Food Co-op

Coffee Tasting

3:00pm|Camber Cafe

Food Not Bombs

4:00pm|downtown Bellingham

Art Night

5:00pm|SpringHill Suites by Marriott

12 Minutes Max Auditions

5:00pm|Firehouse Performing Arts Center

Amber Sky CD Release Party

6:00pm|Presence Studio

Gore & Lore Tours

6:00pm|Historic Fairhaven, downtown Bellingham

Falliday Vintage Market

6:00pm|Port Transit Event Center

Family Story Night

6:00pm|Fairhaven Library

Wild & Scenic Film Festival

6:30pm|Lincoln Theatre

Poetry Party

7:00pm|Mount Baker Theatre

Upstream

7:00pm|Village Books

USA Dance

7:00pm|Majestic

Thriller Dance Class

7:00pm|Moles Farewell Tributes

Halloween Movie Night

7:00pm|BHS Performing Arts Center

Friday Night Flicks

7:30pm|Van Zandt Community Hall

Sanford-Hill Piano Series

7:30pm|Performing Arts Center

Hellingham

8:00pm|Upfront Theatre

Holding the Light

8:00pm|Honey Moon

see our complete calendar »

Cascadia Weekly Subscribe Ad 1 Bellingham Farmer’s Market Village Books Trove Mt. Baker Theatre Undersea Bubble CWWarrenMiller